Florida Car Insurance Rates
The legal requirements for auto insurance are different in each state and therefore, what is statutorily recommended in one state might not hold water when you are driving through another state. Hence, it is prudent that you are conversant about the auto insurance regulations operating in that particular state. For example, if you are driving through Florida, then you should be aware that the state has its own statutes regarding the insurance coverage required.
Factors affecting auto insurance rates
Several factors affect the cost of your auto insurance. A clean driving record may call for a lower premium. If there are no records relating to parking violations or speeding tickets, this may help you save on your auto insurance premium. Also by completing certain tests for safe driving and courses held by traffic schools, this may help you lower your premiums.
Even the additional measures of safety installations in your vehicle, like airbags, stability control, and anti-lock brakes, will help in reducing your premium amount. Hence, it is advisable to check out all available safety gadgets for your vehicle and install as many as you can so as to benefit from reduced premiums. A very vital criterion while calculating your auto premium is your credit score. Your credit standing will much demonstrate your ability to pay your bills on time and an adverse record will affect your auto premium amounts.
You love the area where you are living but even the location of your residence affects the premium amount. Areas that are prone to accidents, or are densely crowded, or have a history of frequent claims, may call for an increased premium. Love to be a teenager and zoom around in your car – well be ready to pay a higher auto premium. Insurance companies conventionally insist on higher premiums from drivers who are less than 25 years of age. Also, being a man may require you to pay a higher premium due to the traditional aggressiveness associated with the male driver.
Though the color of your car may not affect the premium to be paid, the price tag, model, age and make of the car will certainly influence this. The less expensive your car, the lower will be the premium since the insurance provider will have to pay a low amount for replacement of your car, if need be. Even your marital status may affect the amount of premium – if you are single, it is higher, and if you are married, lower, depending upon the regulations and policies of the insurance provider.
Auto insurance is mandatory in Florida
The state of Florida requires that if you own a car and want to drive in Florida, then it is mandatory for you to have auto insurance. The statutory minimum requirement is a PIP or personal injury protection coverage of $10,000 and PDL or property damage liability coverage of $10,000 until the time you register your car in another state and change your license plates. The application of PIP or Florida No Fault Insurance enables you to be covered up to the limits of your insurance policy no matter whose fault the accident was. The coverage of PIP extends to your family members who may have been accompanying you at the time of the incident, and to specific passengers who do not have PIP and also do not own a car of their own. Those passengers who have their own PIP will be covered by their PIP, as will drivers with valid license who are driving your car with your permission.
The state of Florida does not make it mandatory for you to have BIL coverage, but once you are involved in an accident, you are required to be covered under BIL. Any permanent or serious injuries or even death is covered by BIL or bodily injury liability, and covers payments up to the policy limit, even if the collision is your fault. Also this provides for the insurance company to help you out with paying your legal defense bills if the injured sues you. The insurer also pays out if the injuries were caused by your family members who were driving your car, or one belonging to somebody else; or if somebody else was driving your car with your permission. PDL or property damage liability refers to the damage caused by you or any member of your family while driving your car to the property of any other individual.
Only Florida coverage is valid
It is mandatory for you to have Florida coverage for your car meaning that your auto insurance policy has to be provided by an insurance company that is duly registered and licensed by the Florida Department of Financial Services. If you possess an auto insurance policy registered in a different state, you will have to request the company to transfer the same to Florida at the time of registering your vehicle in Florida; otherwise it will not be valid. You may have to pay a fine of $150 to $500 for driving without a valid Florida insurance, and get reinstated only after you show proof that you have valid Florida state auto insurance.
Comparison of quotes
Though the motto of the state of Florida is “in God we trust”, it is still compulsory for you to have a valid auto insurance policy when you are driving in Florida just like most other places in the world. The average insurance premium for cars in United States is approximately $1,439.00, while that in Florida works out to $1,701.00. Your premium very much depends upon the locality of your registration as is evidenced by Miami having an average of $ 2,383.00 while it is $1,422.00 for Jacksonville. It would be most prudent to engage in some investigation to compare quotes from different insurance providers, because each insurance company has their own individualistic norms for calculating the risk factors. Hence, it would be in your best interest to study and compare these different quotes and their offerings.